09/06/2014

I thought today was Friday. Really, I did! When you don’t go out very often, and have a very similar routine everyday, I guess the days blend together. So it is Saturday, and time for Z to go to Kung Fu.
I spent all morning cleaning and organizing. I went down to the basement because I knew that we had more games and books than are up here in our house. Sure enough, there are boxes and boxes of my books, some boxes of kids/homeschool books, and a large box of games. A few of the games were missing pieces, and some had their boxes broken, but there they were! I found Dwarves and Dice for W, Harvest Time, A Walk in the Woods, In a Pickle, Zingo, Cranium and Cranium Cadoo, Apples to Apples, Scrabble Junior, Junior Pictionary, Connect Four, Hi Ho! Cherry-O, Trivial Pursuit, Don’t Make Me Laugh, Sleeping Grump, My Word!, and a skill game called Shuttles. Awesome! Needless to say, we played a lot of games today.
I also decided to bring up the rest of my yarn. We bought a huge bag at an estate sale a couple of years ago, and I have slowly been working through it. I have some huge cones of boucle in all weights, a lot of lovely linen thread and lace, and 12 cones of fisherman’s wool. So I got it all into my new yarn area and organized it and am going to start planning patterns tomorrow.
Other exciting activites: making pasta with my lovely daughter! B wanted spaghetti and we didn’t have any and had no money but had some organic wheat flour. She is not much for gluten free. Some things. With lots of sugar and butter. So since she doesn’t always trust my cooking and was feeling down, I decided to go with wheat. It went well. We made linguini and fettucini and farfalle and experimented with rolling little tubes.

photo 1 (5) photo 3 (1)

 

Everybody ate it up- even me. I had to try some. At least my stomach didn’t freak. Now I am waiting for some superfine rice flour to come in the mail so I can make some. Maybe I will try with sorghum flour for now. I am so jealous.  I also made a crumb cake from a mix that G-ma gave us that I can’t eat but made the kids happy and a huge pot of Split Pea and Ham soup that I can eat.  Yay!  It is so good.  I am longing for Fall and soup weather.  They say it may rain tomorrow.  Or maybe not.  Or maybe Monday.  But probably not.  Boo.

While the girls were in the kitchen, W and Z watched The Hobbit 1 and 2. I love the Hobbit and LOTR series. I used to read the books once a year when I was a teen. J read them even more than I did, especially the Hobbit. Now we watch them all a few times a year and J reads the books to the kids sometimes, especially on long car rides. It is a great family tradition. Excited for December when the Hobbit 3 comes out!
Oh- and I trimmed Z’s bangs today. He has not been able to see without brushing them out of his eyes, and it is an issue at Kung Fu. He will not wear a headband or clip, so shorter it goes…I think I did a great job, considering it is my second attempt.

Then studying.  Studying.  Studying.  It will not end for 5 or 6 months.  It keeps me from keeping the house as clean as I would like.  It keeps me from crafting as much as I would like.  It is a necessary evil.  At least I like the content.
Between all of that, cleaning the house, and going up and down the stairs 20 times to bring J his meals and keep him supplied in coffee, I am tired! But a good kind of tired, like we are on the right track and everything is going to be okay if we can just make it through this stage of the journey. Poor J has been outside the last week chugging through the tiny house foundation. That’s right, after weeks of planning and a week of looking at the trailer and figuring out what materials we need, we are finally getting the base up. Home Depot delivered hundreds of pounds of materials and so we have what we need to do the floor and shell. Check out ourblissfullifeblog for more info.

photo303
Good night!

Leave a Reply

