My Nutritional Odyssey

I have been doing a lot of experimenting with my nutrition lately.  I seem to have come full circle, as I am wont to do.  I have been leaning toward the Paleo side of things for a couple of years and decided last winter to cut out all grains to see how I reacted.  I felt better for a while- lost a few pounds, skin cleared up, less aches and pains.  But after a couple of months, my energy tanked.  I decided to try adding in a lot of healthy fats – coconut oil/milk, high fat dairy, more nuts, and that helped for a bit, but still was not enough.  Then I read Matt Stone’s books and the website Eat More 2 Lose Weight and decided to add in a lot more calories.  It turns out that, being a busy mom, breastfeeding, homeschooling, full time student, part time business owner, was taking it’s toll on me and I was not nourishing my body enough for it to function properly.  So I added grains back in (mostly gluten free, but some wheat when that was all that was available) and tried to add in more cheese for a while to keep my calories up.  But my skin started freaking out again and I gained 15 pounds.  Both of which I expected, as per my reading as talking with others that have used this approach.  But then I came to a point where the aches and pains were back, my skin was at an all-time freak out high, and I was constantly bloated and sluggish feeling.  But I had energy.  Argh!!!  I decided to go back to my old style of eating- mostly gluten-free, low dairy, high veggie, with room for splurges.  And now my energy is good, aches and pains are slowly subsiding, my skin is clearing up, and I am slowly losing weight again.  At this point, I am eating eggs, coconut milk/cream/oil/flour/sugar, lots of low-fiber veggies, some well-cooked high fiber veggies, small amounts of fruit (mostly berries, occasional banana in a smoothie, mangoes, watermelon), some nuts/seeds, white rice, potatoes, sweet potatoes, nuts and seeds, arrowroot and tapioca starches, lard/tallow, olive oil, chocolate, Kombucha, Water Kefir, pickles, saurkraut, all kinds of meat, and small amounts of gluten and dairy.  I am trying to get in enough calories that I have energy to fuel my non-stop days, making those calories as nutrient dense as possible and as tasty as possible.  And keeping each meal’s serving of carbs low enough to not spike my blood sugar/insulin and overall carbs low enough to slowly lose these extra pounds that are keeping me from feeling optimal.  

Leave a Reply

