Recipe Review: Elana’s Pantry Paleo Coconut Macaroons

photo250

Elana’s Pantry is a great resource for Paleo recipes, including some for those who need or choose to go egg, nut, or dairy-free. There are so many that I want to try, but a friend and I have been talking about making Paleo macaroons for 2 months now. So far I have found egg-free versions, complex versions using coconut milk and flour and sugar, chocolate-dipped ones, etc. But the version here: http://www.elanaspantry.com/paleo-coconut-macaroons/ was the simplest. And so, being a super busy Mom, I decided that was where I would start.
With only 4 ingredients and a short cooking time, these seem to be coconut cookie Nirvana. I ended up whipping my egg whites first and using shredded coconut instead of flakes.
What I liked: with only a 1/4 cup of honey for the whole recipe, these are just sweet enough. So. Simple. And. Easy. And a short baking time.
Not so much: these did not hold together as well as I would have liked. I am not sure if that is due to me whipping the egg whites before mixing or another issue, but they were definitely crumbly.
But still super yummy.
Kids and DH still won’t eat coconut, so I get them all to myself. good thing I have my sugar cravings under control (mostly : ) )

Leave a Reply

